The Troll Who Cried Wolf (Life of Zarf, Book 2)

The Troll Who Cried Wolf (Life of Zarf, Book 2)

Rob Harrell

Language: English

Pages: 78

ISBN: 1501908383

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


Fractured fairy tales meet modern day middle school in book two of this hilarious series that’s perfect for fans of Shrek and Dork Diaries.
Even after rescuing the king from deadly Snuffweasels, Zarf is scum on the bottom rung of the middle school social ladder. After all, he is still a troll. But at least he still has his two best friends, Kevin and Chester . . . until Kevin disappears, that is. Now Zarf is at an all-time low. It seems a band of wolves are seeking revenge for the constant disgrace they’ve suffered over the years, and Little Red Ridinghood’s kid might be next on their list. Now it’s up to Zarf to crank out a solution from that troll brain of his, and save his best friend before it’s too late. 

Award-winning comic creator Rob Harrell has middle-grade humor mastered. This second book in his Life of Zarf series is packed with even more witty one-liners and clever twists on classic folk and fairytales. It's perfect for fans of Chris Colfer's Land of Stories series.

[b]Praise for Life of Zarf: The Trouble with Weasels:

"Entertainingly goofy. A promising series kickoff full of off-kilter action and humor." —Publishers Weekly

"A Wimpy Kid format with a fairy-tale twist? Yes, this is bound to be a hit." —Booklist

From the Hardcover edition.

Brush of the Gods

Swallows and Amazons (Swallows and Amazons, Book 1)

EllRay Jakes Rocks the Holidays!

Horrid Henry's Underpants

Ballet Stars

Go, Dog, Go!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

calmly making notes. He looked mildly confused. “Hey, guys.” I was so out of breath, I could hardly speak. “Mr. Woolentail” was casually leaning against Miss Flett’s desk. “Did you guys decide you need some help with the ol’ studyin’ as well?” He stood up and walked behind the desk. “I was givin’ my good buddy Kev some pointers, and he was telling me a bit more about some of your classmates.” “Kevin,” I said, as calmly as my heaving chest allowed. “I need you to go stand by Chester.”

it slide. Goldie pulled up in her banged-up Grub-Mobile and told us all to pile in and she’d give us rides home. Chester said he had a ride and limped over to hop onto the back bumper of the paddy wagon as it left for the castle. When we got to Littlepig Manor, the rides and booths from the festival were still set up, looking kind of spooky in the dark. Kevin mumbled that the high school volunteers wouldn’t be back to tear everything down until the following weekend. “And don’t ask about

pointed like crazy at myself on the words Fazzle bar. Kevin’s eyes were darting back and forth. This is something he does when he’s thinking really hard—making connections in his brain. He also does it when he needs to go to the bathroom really bad, but I didn’t think that was the situation this time. Suddenly his eyes got huge. Something had clicked. But the look of wonder quickly turned to terror. “ZARF’S SPIRIT IS IN ITS STOMACH AND HE’S TRYING TO COMMUNICATE WITH ME!!” Dang. So close.

nose-first up the stairs. I wouldn’t have thought it possible, but my mood plummeted even further. It would have been a perfect moment for a big clap of thunder if this were a movie. We were on our own. *   *   * I crawled up onto the top bunk and flopped down with my face in a pillow to think. And okay, maybe to pout a little. I shivered, and missed that awesome leather jacket. I went to pull a sheet over me when I realized there wasn’t one on the bed. I was lying on a bare pillow and

sound like a gunshot, Big Bad’s shoulder crashed into the steel lip of the dunk tank and he crumpled like a rag doll. So did the tank. There was a huge explosion of glass and water as the wolf landed upside down on the ground and 300 gallons of water rushed over his limp form. He twitched and whimpered a couple of times and then went still. Score one for the pig! I was too exhausted and in too much pain to cheer as Sierra helped me get my legs up and wrapped around the rope. I could hear

Download sample

Download